Summer School Alpbach 2019
Geophysics from Space using Micro- or Nano-Satellite Constellations
July 16-25, Alpbach/Tyrol – Austria
Pictures      Student Presentation      Lectures      Downloads      Links      Contact/Imprint      Data Protection Policy        ????   

The Summer School
Organisers and Programme Committee
Local Arrangement
Post Alpbach Summer School Event


The Summer School is organised by the Aeronautics and Space Agency of FFG and co-sponsored by the European Space Agency (ESA) and the national space authorities of its member and cooperating states. A traditional partner is the International Space Science Institute (ISSI). It is also supported by Austrospace, the association of Austrian space industries and research institutions. EuroPlanet offers grants for students.


Wolfgang Baumjohann, Space Research Institute/Austrian Academy of Sciences

Summer School Director: Michaela Gitsch, FFG
Vice Summer School Director: Wolfgang Baumjohann
Scientific Coordinator: Hans Sünkel, University of Technology Graz
Head Tutor: Peter Falkner, ESA

Programme Committee Members:

  • Roger Bonnet, ISSI
  • Paal Brekke, Norway
  • Natacha Callens, ESA
  • Peter Falkner, ESA
  • Rune Flogerghagen, ESA
  • Achim Friker, DLR
  • Andreas Geisler , FFG
  • Andrian Jäggi, University of Berne
  • Pekka Janhunen, Finnish Meteorological Institute
  • Serge Habraken, Centre Spatial de Liège
  • Vassilios Karastathis, Geodynamics, Institute of the National Observatory of Athens
  • Arpad Kis, Geodetic and Geophysical Institute of the Research Centre for Astronomy and Earth Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • Otto Koudelka, University of Technology Graz
  • Dan Alin Nedelcu, Astronomical Institute of the Romanian Academy
  • Miroara Mandea, CNES
  • Mark McCaughrean, ESA
  • Jens Dalsgaard Nielsen, University of Aalborg
  • Johannes Ortner, Austria
  • Andris Slavinskis, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Jose Carlos del Toro Iniesta, Spain
  • Giancarlo Varacalli, ASI
  • Tonie M van Dam, University of Luxembourg