Summer School Alpbach
July 12-16 2021: Online Lecture Course on Earth Magnetosphere / Multisatellite Missions in the field of Plasma Physics
July 12 - 21, 2022 Alpbach/Tyrol - Austria: On Site Lectures and Workshops on Comparative Plasma Physics in the Universe
Pictures      Student Presentation      Downloads      Links      Contact/Imprint      Data Protection Policy      Accessibility Statement        ????   

The Summer School
Programme
Workshops
Organisers and Programme Committee
Local Arrangement
Post Alpbach Summer School Event
Participation
Apply
Update








PARTICIPATION

The Summer School is open to 60 selected young science and/or engineering students and graduates from among the member, associate and cooperating states of the European Space Agency (ESA)*). The working language of the Summer School will be English.

To be eligible for participation, you need to be

  • a citizen from an ESA member state or from one of the European associate and cooperating countries
  • enrolled as a student (Bacherlor, Master or PhD) in a university

The number of participants will be limited to 60 students. A selection is necessary and the admission process is competitive.

The Summer School Alpbach is a joint effort of FFG, ESA and its member states. FFG as the main organiser works with national contact points in the ESA member countries. The selection of participants will be done by the national points of contact.

Selection criteria are:

  • qualification, academic grade
  • experience and background
  • expertise in the specific topic of the Summer School
  • science and/or engineering expertise
  • skills valuable for a space summer school
  • diversity as regards gender, nationality & member states, age, across universities

Confirmation of acceptance or non acceptance will be given by the end of April 2020 by FFG based on the recommendations from the national points of contact.

A registration fee of € 450,- will be charged. This fee covers working material, free access to copying and computer, e-mail and internet facilities at the School House, coffee breaks and dinner vouchers (including one free drink per evening) throughout the period of the Summer School including the weekend.

*) ESA Member States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
Associate members: Canada and Slovenia
Cooperating States: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Slovakia

FINANCIAL SUPPORT

In some of the ESA member, associate and cooperating states financial support is given by national agencies or other other institutions, which will grant a scholarship for participation of selected students.

These agencies/Institutions are the following:

  • Austria: FFG
  • France: Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (CNES)
  • Germany: Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
  • Hungary: Ministry of National Development of Hungary
  • Italy: Agenzia Spaziale Italiana (ASI)
  • Luxembourg: National Research Fund of Luxembourg / GLAE
  • Norway: Norwegian Space Agency
  • Switzerland: Swiss Academy of Sciences
  • Sweden: Swedish National Space Agency
  • The Netherlands: Space Research Organisation of the Netherlands (SRON)
  • UK: UK Space Agency

In other countries - if selected - students need to seek financial support from university or other sources individually. Getting a ticket for the Summer School Albach requires the selection by the national point of contact (with or without national funding).

NATIONAL POINTS OF CONTACT:

FFG, Aeronautics and Space Agency, Sensengasse 1, A-1090 Vienna,
Attn: Michaela Gitsch, tel: +43-(0)5-7755 3302, fax: +43-(0)5-7755 93302, e-mail: michaela.gitsch@ffg.at
Belgian Science Policy Office (BELSPO), Space Department, Simon Bolivarlaan 30, Boulevard Simon Bolivar, B-1000 Brussels,
Attn: Werner Verschueren, tel: +32-2-238 3589, fax: +32-2-2305912, e-mail: Werner.VERSCHUEREN@belspo.be
Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences
Boční II 1401, Praha 4
141 31
Attn: Jaroslav Urbar, Tel. +420 272 764 336, e-mail: urbar@ufa.cas.cz
Ministry of Higher Education and Science
Attn: Cecilie Tornøe, Special Adviser, tel: +45 72 31 82 84, fax: +45 35 44 62 01, e-mail: ct@ufm.dk
Tartu Science Park Foundation, 181A Riia st, 51014 Tartu
Attn: Aire Olesk tel: +372 522 0939, e-mail: aire.olesk@teaduspark.ee
Aalto University, School of Electrical Engineering, 2153, Maarintie 8, Finland, 02150 Espoo
Attn: Jaan Praks, tel: +358 50 420 5847, e-mail: jaan.praks@aalto.fi
Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales – Direction Innovation Applications Sciences, 2 place Maurice Quentin, 75 039 Paris Cedex 01
Attn: Myriana Lozach, Tel: 01 44 76 78 81, e-mail: myriana.lozach@cnes.fr
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)
Raumfahrtmanagement | Extraterrestrik | Königswinterer Str. 522-524 | 53227 Bonn
Attn: Dr.-Ing. Christian Gritzner, Teilprogrammleiter Sonnensystemmissionen, Tel. 0228 447-530, e-mail: christian.gritzner@dlr.de
National Observatory of Athens, Institute for Astronomy, Astrophysics, Space Applications and Remote Sensing, Metaxa & Vas. Pavlou str, GR-15236, Penteli
Attn: Anastasios Anastasiadis, tel.: +30-2108109194, e-mail: anastasi@noa.gr
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Space, Department of Space Activity,
H-1027 Budapest, Bem rakpart 47.
Attn: Ferenc Horvai, tel: +36 1 458 3629, e-mail: ferenc.horvai@mfa.gov.hu
ASI, Via del Politecnico, I-00133 Rome
Attn: Donatella Marucci, tel. +39 06 8567 855, e-mail: donatella.marucci@asi.it
Enterprise Ireland, 4500 Atlantic Avenue, Westpark, Shannon, Co. Clare, Ireland,
Attn: Bryan Rodgers, tel: +353-61-777003, fax: +353-61-777001, e-mail: bryan.rodgers@enterprise-ireland.com
Ministry of Education and Science, Department of Higher Education, Science and Innovations Valnu iela 2, Riga, LV-1050, Latvija
Attn: Kaspars Karolis, tel: +371 67047996, E-mail: kaspars.karolis@izm.gov.lv
Lithuanian Aerospace Association, Gedimino pr. 3, 01103 VILNIUS, LITHUANIA
Attn: Linas Smigelskas, tel: +370 5 210 1250, e-mail: linas@space-lt.eu
Luxembourg Space Agency
19-21, boulevard Royal | L-2449 Luxembourg
Attn: Asmira Skrijelj, Tél. (+352) 288 482-23, E-mail: asmira.skrijelj@space-agency.lu
Norwegian Space Agency, Drammensveien 165, P.O. Box 113 Skoyen, N-0212 Oslo,
Attn: Paal Brekke, tel: +47 908 71 961, email: paal.brekke@spaceagency.no
Astronomical Institute of the Romanian Academy (AIRA), 5 Cuțitul de Argint, RO-040557, Bucharest
Attn: Dan Alin Nedelcu tel: +40 21 3356892, e-mail: nedelcu@astro.ro
SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research, Sorbonnelaan 2, NL-3584 CA Utrecht,
Attn: Gerard Cornet, tel: +31 88 7775702 fax: +31 88 7775601 email: G.Cornet@sron.nl
Polish Space Agency, Trzy Lipy 3 Street (Building C), 80-172 Gdansk
Attn: Kinga Gruszecka or Szymon Grych, tel: +48 58 500 87 60, e-mail: kinga.gruszecka@polsa.gov.pl or Szymon.Grych@polsa.gov.pl
Portuguese Space Agency, Palácio das Laranjeiras, Estrada das Laranjeiras, 205, RC, - 1649-018 Lisboa
Attn: Marta Goncalves, tel: 351 21 723 10 18, e-mail: marta.goncalves@ptspace.pt
Universidad Politécnica de Madri, Campus Ciudad Universitaria. C/Ramiro de Maeztu, 7, E-28040, Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Attn: Isabel Pérez Grande, e-mail: isabel.perez.grande@upm.es tel. 910675811
Swedish National Space Agency, Hemvärnsgatan 15, Box 4006, SE-17104 Solna, Sweden
Attn: Mrs Perina Stjernlöf, Telephone: +46 (0)8-409 077 97 / +46 (0)703 83 77 97, E-mail: perina.stjernlof@snsa.se
Swiss Commission for Space Research, Department of Astronomy/University of Geneva, Chemin d'Ecogia 16, CH-1290 Versoix, Switzerland
Attn: Stephane Paltani, Tel: +41.22.379.21.49, e-mail: Stephane.Paltani@unige.ch
UK Space Agency, Polaris House, North Star Avenue, Swindon, SN2 1SZ,
Attn: Lauren Taylor, tel: +44(0)7920590903, e-mail: Lauren.Taylor@ukspaceagency.gov.uk